Glossybox August 2017 Unboxing & Review!

Ah, the middle of the month. I enjoy this time as I get my monthly subscription box surprises, the little treats to myself where I expect the unexpected, get introduced to new brands and all in all, have a good pamper! This months Glossybox promised to include the top products for keeping us both looking and feeling call in the sun, what little we do have of it here in England. But nonetheless, I was very excited to see what this box would bring! In this months Girls Just Wanna Have Sun themed box I received; a full size SportFX Time Out Face Mist + Fix, a full size Modellauncher Safari Sun Bronzer, a mini Valquer Ice Hair Mask Total Repair, a mini Batiste 2 in 1 Dry Shampoo & Conditioner, as a full size Rodial Suede Lips. So, without further ado, let’s get into my review.

P8120015Starting from the top of the list we have the SportFX Time Out Face Mist + Fix, I was very excited to receive this as I have an upcoming holiday very soon and was planning on buying a fixing mist when we got there so this saves me a big job and a bit of money. Another reason why I was so happy to receive this was that it also doubles up as a cooling spray, and in the humid Florida heat this will be perfect for all my family to use so it’s a great versatile product that I’m sure will be put to good use later on this year. For this reason I have not used the spray as of yet as I want to save it for two weeks of daily use and get the absolute most out of this product. But if it is anything like the other SportFX products I have tried I am sure I will be most impressed.

P8120006

Another brand I have previously used products from before and loved is Rodial, they’re on the higher end side of the market but all their products are of such good quality, and are definitely worth the money you pay. I had never tried any of their lip products before though so I was very excited to see how they veered in comparison with the others. The Suede Lips shade I was sent is called ‘Big Apple’ and in the tube looks to be a purple toned nude but is actually a more terracotta pinky colour (I know, great description!). Though it is the perfect shade for summer, it’s nude but still adds a pop of matte colour making it wearable for day to night and any event in between. The suede name definitely transcends into the product as it is very smooth, velvety and easy to apply, it’s not drying and the colour stays put for a very long time which is an added extra bonus! It’s not a colour that stays put all day I must add, it is long lasting but as soon as you begin eating or drinking it does rub off, which is what you expect from any lip product that isn’t a long wear colour, however, once it has rubbed off you are not left with even a tinge of the colour there before, which I get from many other similar products. Despite this I feel like this is a really good lip product and it is something I can seem myself throwing in my bag as an all-day wearer.

P8120010The other make up product I received in this month’s box was the Modellauncher Safari Sun Bronzer, however, unlike Rodial, Modellauncher was a brand I had not heard of before so I was intrigued to see how this bronzer would fair. At first glimpse this bronzer looks perfect for my pale skin as it has a gold shimmer base with two rather cool toned, matte browns. Perfect it was indeed. Along with giving me a great summer glow thanks to the added shimmer it gave a great contour which wasn’t too dark or orange tones for my extremely fair skin, which is a problem I tend to have with bronzers. The soft shimmer will also make this a great product for the transition into Autumn, where a soft glow but a matte product is needed so I can really see this bronzer becoming a daily staple for me as the September is just around the corner. What I also loved with the Safari Sun was the three individual shades, making it a versatile, multiuse make up item, the darker shades could be used as a eyeshadow, and the gold shimmer could be used on its own as a highlight. Overall I think this has to be my favourite product from the August Glossybox and I hope we get to sample some more Modellauncer products soon!

P8120013Following on from my favourite item of the month I shall move on to my least favourite product from the August Glossybox, which is the Batiste 2 in 1 Dry Shampoo & Conditioner. I have previously received this product in a Birchbox before, so I am not sure if I have already spoken about it or not, so I’ll simply share my views on this product again. It is shit. Simple as that. As a fan of the Batiste Dry Shampoo’s which are a staple of mine as I try and avoid washing my hair daily I was looking forward to giving this product a go to see if it helped aid two-day hair end dryness. It doesn’t. I think the worst part is that it doesn’t even work as a dry shampoo. All this product is good for is making greasy hair even greasier. Though this may work for some people, it’s simply a big no from me and a giant let down. On the upside, this product does smell great, so your hair may be looking like a grease ball but at least it will still smell good.

P8120009Finally, last but not least, we have the Valquer Ice Hair Mask, Total Repair. This again was a totally new brand for me, having not heard or used any of their products so I was looking forward to see how they worked for me. Especially since my hair has been so dry and brittle recently, therefore I was hoping to somewhat fix me mess of hair. First up I have to talk about the scent of this product, it has that generic “man” scent. That’s pretty much the only way I can describe it, but it honestly smells like 90% of the deodorants my boyfriend uses. Now this isn’t a bad thing, as I really do like it, but if you’re not a fan of the scent do not worry as it doesn’t linger. As a hair mask it promises hydrate and tame hair, as well as having a cooling effect, which I feel it really lives up to. Thought the cooling effect is subtle it is a nice feeling and I think it would be really good for the times I burn my very sensitive scalp on holiday. This mask left my hair really feeling soft and hydrated but for £14.99 I feel it will be a “special occasion” product rather than a staple in my collection.

Have you been thinking about trying Glossybox or want to try some of the products I received this month? Then make sure you use my link http://referme.to/VcRkIIo to get 40% off your first box!

To keep up to date with my blog make sure to follow me for updates and to see more of my adventures check out my Twitter and Instagram (links can be found below), just remember to keep wishing & dreaming! xo
Leave a Reply

