Birchbox April 2017: The Bold and The Beautiful! Unboxing & Review!

It’s been a while since I posted a Birchbox unboxing and review so what better way to start off the Easter long weekend that with a new blog post after my time away focussing on my mental health. This month’s box was designed in partnership with Boden, giving us a gorgeous bright floral patterned box that I cannot wait to reuse as it perfectly fits my style aesthetic. The partnership for this month also created the theme for the April box, The Bold and The Beautiful, in honour of the bright and fun prints created by Boden. A like to many of the previous boxes we were given the opportunity to select one of the products in the April Birchbox, the choice was between a Manna Kadar Cosmetics High Definition Powder or a Highlight and Contour Duo, I went for the Powder as I have been on the lookout recently for a new setting powder, therefore this was the obvious option for me. Along with the full size High Definition Powder I also received a; full size Nip + Fab Colour Correcting Concealer, a mini Polaar IcePure Gentle Scrub, a mini Amika The Shield Style Extending Spray, and a mini Baija Paris Crème Moana. All these products totalled to around £65, but the added extra of a £10 gift voucher for Boden brought the box total to £75 which is a massive saving on the amount you spend on the Birchbox itself.

IMG_1586 So let’s start off with the product that I got to choose for the April box, the Manna Kadar Cosmetics High Definition Powder. This is a translucent powder, a sort of one product fits all, which I think is great as it makes it suitable for all skin tones and types, which also means than when applying it to set your foundation you’re not packing on extra colours, making you skin look cakey. It is pressed but is very finely milled, making it very smooth and easy to apply. I also liked how the product either stayed on your brush or skin, as other powders I have tried can float off into the air and end up getting breathed in, which isn’t what you really want! I do have to say though that there is one fault with this powder, the size. For a full size product that would normally cost £27 it’s incredibly small, it looks more like a sample than anything, so based on this alone it isn’t something I would repurchase in the near future, but the powder itself is fantastic.

IMG_1584The other make up product that I was sent this month was the Nip + Fab Colour Correcting Concealer, when I read that we would be receiving one of these in the April box I was so excited as I love colour correcting but only own one pallet so this would be great at expanding my collection, until I saw the colour I was sent…Terracotta. The colour is what it says on the tin and is gorgeous, maybe for a lipstick or even a blush shade but for concealer… Being so pale to the point of sometimes appearing blue in the sun this product had no chance in hell of ever working for me, which seems such a waste as the formula is great, a little bit goes a long way. If this had been sent in a different shade I would have most likely loved it but the orange isn’t really something I can use. But I am all about honesty so I tried it anyway, and ended up looking like and Oompa Loompa.

For better testing both the conceler and the powder above I wore them both for a day out in the sun and took a photo just before taking my make up off for my evening shower, I’ll let the results speak for themselves.

IMG_1572

IMG_1588Let’s move away from body and face products for a moment and take a bit of time to talk about hair. The hair on our heads that is. Coming into the warmer months I tend to start putting a bit more effort into my hair as I tend to do more things outdoor and go out more often, rather than spending quality time at home with my family and friends. But alongside needing to put more effort into the appearance of my hair I am also subject to getting a burnt scalp very quickly thanks to my pale skin tone and incredibly dark locks. Finding a product to protect my hair against heat styling, but also against UV rays without leaving hair feeling or looking greasy can be a bit of a challenge which is why I have fallen in love with the Amika The Shield Style Extending Spray. I was yet to try a dry heat protector before this and have been thoroughly impressed, it’s so easy to use and doesn’t leave your hair damp or looking a bit on the dirty side, which other wet heat protectors can sometimes do. What I also loved about this product was this it kept my style still in between washes, even when being out in the humid sun, which many others cannot do for me. This is definitely a product that I will be repurchasing and highly recommend for all.

IMG_1585A product from a brand that I have previously tried and loved that I was sent this month was the Polaar IcePure Gentle Scrub with Arctic Cotton. Being so pleasantly surprised with the previous sample I was sent by from them I was looking forward to trying more of what the brand had to offer, and was again very surprised. Being a gentle scrub I was a little dubious as to whether I would like it or not as I am a fan of the slightly more abrasive scrubs as I feel they benefit and clean out my skin much more. However, for a gentle scrub this does have a lot of scrubbing power and my face looked gleaming after use. Not only did it help lift away dead skin but it also got right into my pores and helped to remove blackheads and moisturise my skin, leaving my extremely impressed that I have found another bathroom staple from this brand. I cannot wait to see what else they have to offer as I have been a huge fan of everything I have tried so far.

IMG_1587Last, but certainly by no means least, is the Baija Paris Crème Moana in the scent Fleur de Tiarè. This body lotion smells incredible, but I cannot think of what the scent reminds me of. If you know please leave a comment as it’s really wracking my brain. It’s incredibly creamy yet so easy to work into the skin, leaving your body feeling super soft and smelling lovely for ages. I’m not usually a fan of body lotions but I love this, and just because of its name it will be joining me on my trip to Walt Disney World later this year!

Overall I have been extremely impressed with my April Birchbox, from the vibrant Boden print right down to the range of products I received, I am much looking forward to see what May brings. If you were interested or want to try any of the items I received this month make sure you sign up to Birchbox and get £5 worth of points to spend in the Birchbox shop all you need to do is sign up using my link, https://www.birchbox.co.uk/invite/inkaysworld.

To keep up to date with my blog make sure to follow me for updates and to see more of my adventures check out my Twitter and Instagram (links can be found below), just remember to keep wishing & dreaming! xo
Leave a Reply

