Glossybox January 2017 Unboxing & Review!

My Glossybox is one of the things I look forward to most each month, I love getting unknown treats from myself to myself in the post and I get to discover a load of brands that are unknown to me fall in love with their products, many of which I would never have bought for myself without discovering elsewhere first. As this month promised to be the Edible Edit I was looking forward to receiving products that were going to feed and refresh my skin as a start to the New Year! In this month’s box we already knew that we were going to be receiving a single Meet Matt(e) Trimony Eyeshadow from The Balm, but alongside this we had a mini Nip + Fab Kale Fix Moisturiser, a full size Unani Illuminate Milk Cleanser, a full size Vitamasques Manuka Honey Face Mask and a full size Spa to You Konjac Sponge.

imag1388

Every month you receive a little info sheet which tells you a bit about the products you receive each month as well as giving you a sneak peek into the next box. In the December box we were told that everyone would get a single Meet Matt(e) Trimony Eyeshadow from one of my favourite brands, The Balm. I was incredibly excited for this as I love The Balm and I have been really wanting to try their eyeshadows before committing to getting a full palette so this was a perfect opportunity for me. Even better was the shade I was sent, Matt Kumar, which is a gorgeous deep berry red which is a shade I have been looking out for for a while as I own a lot of metallic or shimmery reds but not a deep, burgundy matte red. hjhihihiAs I have blue eyes I find that this eyeshadow makes them really stand out and complements them well. It is super pigmented too and very easy to blend which makes it long lasting, which is great as it is slightly smaller than the one in the full palette, so it will last for a while. I love using this shadow in my crease and smoking it out slightly, I got so many complements on how different and pretty it was when I wore it and I would highly recommend these shadows to anyone wanting to invest in a new palette, I for one shall be soon!

imag1382A product that really shocked me in the January box was the Spa to You Konjac Sponge. This was a product the I never thought in a million years I would ever go out and buy to add into my skincare regime but it’s through this subscription service that I have found something that I use daily and feels irreplaceable in my nightly routine! The sponge is made from 100% natural Konjac plant fibre so it’s very soft but a gentle exfoliator, making it perfect for daily use as it’s not too harsh or abrasive to your skin. I love using this with a cleanser every night to thoroughly clean my skin and any makeup or days remaints that might be stuck to it, because let’s face it, your skin can get pretty grimy even just sat in an office thanks to pollution and dirt you don’t realise is surrounding you. I have really noticed a difference in my skin since adding this into my daily skincare routine and I will continue to use it from now on. If you struggle with blackheads, acne, oily or dry skin I would highly recommend giving these sponges a go, they’re natural and kind to your skin but really do help to take away the impurities better than something like a flannel.

imag1386As I mentioned above, I love using my Konjac sponge with a cleanser every night and one of the products we received in this month’s box was just that, a cleanser. In particular it was the Unani Illuminate Milk Cleanser. Prior to receiving this box I had heard of Unani but had never tried any of their products and was loyal to my Soap and Glory Peaches and Clean cleanser but I have found that this one is much more gentle leaves my skin feeling much softer and more moisturised. It’s not milky when you pump it out but it does leave a milk-like smoothness to your face when you wash it off. I have found that using it with my Konjac sponge really does help remove any traces of make up an impurities from my face without being harsh as it is made from natural oils. If you’re in the market for a new cleanser and don’t mind spending a bit more than I would recommend giving this one a try as not only is it creamy, it also smells so yummy too!

imag1387This months box really was all about skincare and I have definitely fallen in love with all of the products, most of which have found their way into my daily routine, including the Nip + Fab Kale Fix Moisturiser. I love Kale, total hipster I know, and having found a product that does wonders to my face has cemented that love further. This moisturiser claims to enrich skin and protect it against external aggressors and helps sooth and smooth skin. I really do think it does all of these things! Its formula is not too thick or thin and applies very smoothly, it smooths over my pores and almost feels like a primer as it glides over the skin, adding almost a protective, nourishing layer, that I have been using every morning and night. Since using this, and all the other skin care products I’ve mentioned I have definitely noticed a reduction in the size of my pores and their visibility as well as the amount of blackheads and blemishes which I have struggled with over this winter season and I think this has really helped and benefited my skin. The only thing I find off putting is the price, at almost £20 it’s over double the price of my usual daily moisturiser that I have used for years but the massive improvement I’ve seen has been great. It also lacks in SPF so you have to make sure you use another product on top of it that contains it, which for me is my foundation so this is something I don’t have to worry about unless I want a makeup free day.

imag1385The final product in my January Glossybox is one that I’ve been wearing as I’ve typed, and that is the Manuka Honey Face Mask by Vitamasques. I love sheet masks as they are so easy to use and don’t require washing off. This one smells very sweet too so is a pleasure to wear, prior to putting this mask on I had used an abrasive exfoliator on my face so although it was squeaky clean it was left very dry and in need of a pick me up which is exactly what this mask has provided me. A good, nourishing moisture boost and glow. For £3.99 I can see myself getting a few more of these masks as they are such a good price and given me similar results as some of the more expensive ones on the market.

If you couldn’t already tell I have been blown away by this month’s Glossybox and have loved all of the products featured, all of which have given my skin the New Year rejuvenation it very much needed!

To keep up to date with my blog make sure to follow me for updates and to see more of my adventures check out my Twitter and Instagram (links can be found in my sidebar), just remember to keep wishing & dreaming! xo
One thought on “Glossybox January 2017 Unboxing & Review!

Leave a Reply

